706-213-3114 ecdev@elberton.net

In June 2019, the governments of Elbert County renewed their long-standing commitment to Economic Development in Elbert County by updating and amending the activating resolution for the Development Authority of Elbert County, Elberton, and Bowman.  The Authority was first created in 1982 as a successor to the Elbert County Industrial Building Authority, and the Authority charter had not been updated since.  The purpose of the update was to improve communication, cooperation, and involvement among the Authority and the three local governments.  The Chairman of the county Board of Commissioners along with the Mayor of Elberton will now be members of the Authority Board of Directors along with five other individuals appointed from the private sector with terms of four years each.

Board members appointed by the Elbert County Board of Commissioners were Stephen Banks and Randy Smith, who will serve alongside County Chairman Lee Vaughn.  Board members appointed by the City of Elberton were Greg Gunter and Dr. Andrea Daniel who will serve alongside Mayor Larry L. Guest.  Leona Brown was appointed by the City of Bowman.

The Board’s organizational meeting was held on Thursday, June 26, 2019.